Against All Odds – God Gave The Idahosa Family Miraculous Babies

Is there anything too difficult for God? When it seems hopelessly hopeless, God has a fantastic way of showing up and showing out. Read the wonderful testimony of the Laurie Idahosa, Daughter-in-law of the Late renowned Archbishop Benson Idahosa, the first Pentecostal Archbishop in Nigeria.

By Laurie Idahosa

The Western world celebrates today as Mother’s Day. This is one day on the calendar that I used to dread. I’d see children kissing their moms, celebrating… and all I could think about was how I so desperately wanted to become a mother myself. I remember many past Mother’s Days when I would shed tears because the deep longing in my heart to become a mother seemed to be up against insurmountable odds. Today, my story has changed. Allow me to share my miracle story with you.

My husband, F.E.Benson Idahosa II, and I met in Benin City, Nigeria when I was 13 years old; our fathers (Archbishop Benson Idahosa and Gary Whetstone) were friends.  I’ve referred to my love for Feb as “love at first sight” because very soon after we met, the sparks of love began to flicker between us.

manna blog

After many years, my dream came true when I was 28 years old; Feb made me his wife! I was the happiest woman on earth and smiled ear to ear all through our courtship and wedding day. I was so excited to be his wife! The next thing I couldn’t wait for was to be the mother of his children; I wanted so badly to carry his baby.

During the first year of our marriage, pregnancy didn’t happen like I expected. Subsequently, I convinced my husband to go with me for a fertility check-up. He thought it was silly because he was so sure that we’d have our kids. Eventually, just to pacify me, we went for the check-up.

To our surprise, they did all the testing and came back to us with tormenting news. They told us that both he and I had very serious fertility issues and that we would never be able to have a child without In-Vitro Fertilization (IVF). The doctor looked at us both in our eyes and told us that we were 99.9% infertile.

My world felt like it crashed down on me. It was a journey I never expected to undergo. My husband on the other hand had steadfast faith and kept reassuring me, saying, “We will have our children! God promised it, He will do it!”

Following the logical path of thinking, we decided to embark on the journey of IVF. The next year, we gathered our money together from some investments we made before marriage and went for our first treatment. After $25,000, injections, surgery and so many stories that ought not to be told, we did our first embryo transfer. 2 weeks later, so full of hope, we went back to see if we were pregnant and my world crashed again; it didn’t work!

We repeated this process several times over the next few years, each time ending in disappointment.

The more treatments I did, the puffier my tummy began to look. Well-meaning friends and family would see me and think that finally I was expectant! They would rub my tummy and give me hugs of congratulations… all the while, I knew my uterus was empty. Empty! And trust me, I sooo longed for a baby.

After four failed IVF attempts, my husband and I decided to find another hospital which had a statistical track record of better outcomes. We went to New York Presbyterian Hospital, Cornell University. This time, IT WORKED!!!!!

I was finally pregnant! Hallelujah!

I carried that pregnancy like someone carrying an egg with a spoon; very delicately… although we were based in Nigeria, I refused to travel back during that pregnancy. I followed every instruction and went for every doctor visit. I was ready to be a healthy mom with a healthy baby.

On July 3, 2007 after a long labour and eventual CS, I gave birth to the most handsome baby boy. He had a full head of hair and to this day, I can remember that feeling when they brought him to me and we looked at each other, eye to eye. We quickly announced it to our family and to anyone and everyone. Across the globe there were celebrations and outbursts of thanksgiving! He was the first grandson born to the late Archbishop Benson Idahosa!

Article Source : http://www.mannaexpressonline.com/against-all-odds-god-gave-the-idahosa-family-miraculous-babies/

Leave a comment